Posted on April 14, 2015 by Renick

Various Artists - A Gentle Introduction, Mixed by Renick Bell (audio) (2011)

Download the release: (153.87 MB)

Sometimes I want to introduce people in a general way to what we are doing at I have never been able to comfortably say “listen to this one thing we put out, and then you will understand what we are about.” Jason and I talked about doing some mixes of the material on the site, and I think that is just what we have needed to demonstrate in a broad way where we have been. This mix is intended to be the beginning of a series of mixes presenting panoramas of the music here.

This mix remains not-quite-representative of our releases. I’ve deliberately chosen some of the sweeter, kinder tracks, though the audience might not find it exactly sweet or kind. Still, these tracks show all of us experimenting and improvising with electronic music in our studios with sounds which are, relative to other noises we make, gentle. Drones, glitches, noise, lots of instruments, and long hours with microphones and in front of computers are condensed into 64 minutes of what I think may be, for some, our more approachable side.

All of the tracks, with the exception of “Seed Study 05”, can be found in their original form on this site. The mix includes tracks from a majority of the releases on this site. Please download them as well to see how they fit into their respective releases.

This is a studio mix done in Ardour on a Linux computer, not a live one, but I’ve mostly avoided messing with the contents of the tracks themselves. I tried to mix and layer them in a way that I felt would take a listener on a journey which builds to some intensity and moves into a wide open space. It feels to me that we are concerned with transformations, so I wanted to let one track transform into the next one smoothly and naturally.

It also became clear to me when doing this mix that we are largely into making numbered sequences, right down to the name of our site. As our collective name implies changing the sequence, I hope this resequenced mix of some of our releases will serve as a gentle introduction, inviting listeners into the other works on this site.

THE3RD2ND_018 - Various Artists - A Gentle Introduction, Mixed by Renick Bell (audio) (2011)


  1. Yuji Takeda - Day 6
  2. YATE - Neon Time Zone
  3. bew - Audiopaint (Aln vs Cln remix)
  4. Renick Bell - Study 07
  5. YATE - Arp Session 02
  6. 05 Shambolic Scattered - Transition 03
  7. 05 Shambolic Scattered - Transition 09
  8. Renick Bell - Seed Study 05
  9. YATE - Phase III
  10. 05 Shambolic Scattered - Transition 05
  11. YATE - Phase III
  12. YATE - Arp Session 02
  13. Renick Bell - Path 3
  14. The Third Second - Endless Cosmic Ink
  15. Deserts of Sound - Beyond the Horizon
  16. The Third Second - Finding Balance, Side A
  17. 05 Shambolic Scattered - Transition 06
  18. Renick Bell - Path 2
  19. YATE - Phase IV
  20. The Third Second - Fortunate Realization
  21. Deserts of Sound - Atmosphere Transference System
  22. Yuji Takeda - Day 3
  23. Junichi Uesugi and Renick Bell - Wondering About Selfishness
  24. Yuji Takeda - Day 4
  25. YATE - Phase II
  26. Renick Bell - Path 1
  27. Renick Bell - Complement Drone
  28. YATE - Arp Session 03
  29. YATE - Arp Session 02
  30. bew - Audiopaint 03

total playtime 64:17